THE Mid Essex candidates for next month’s General Election have now been confirmed.

On May 22, the Prime Minister Rishi Sunak called for a General Election which will be held on July 4.

A General Election is a process where the UK public will be able to decide their constituency’s MP by vote, the chosen candidates will then represent the area in the houses of parliament.

This can result in the formation of a completely new parliament made up of the political parties that are successful.

Now, Braintree District Council and Maldon District Council have confirmed the list of hopeful candidates that want to earn a seat in parliament as an MP.

Here’s a list of all the candidates.


James Spencer Cleverly – Conservative Party

Kieron Anthony Franks – Liberal Democrat

David Christopher Norman Heather – Independent

Richard Thomson – Reform UK

Paul Richard Thorogood – Green Party

Matthew Wright – Labour Party


James Edward Abbott – Green Party

Timothy Ronald Keith Blaxill – Reform UK

Rumi Chowdhury – Labour Party

Chelsey Jay – Representing the people, not a party

Priti Patel – Conservative Party


Simon John Burwood - Liberal Democrat

Isobel Jean Campbell Doubleday – Green Party

Onike Gollo – Labour Party

Pamela Kay Walford – Reform UK

John Flasby Lawrence Whittingdale – Conservative Party