A headteacher has been crowned the best in the county at the seventh annual Essex Teaching Awards.

Trevor Lawn, of Braintree’s Alec Hunter Academy, beat off stiff competition to claim the top spot at the awards ceremony at Hylands House in Chelmsford.

He came away with the secondary headteacher of the year prize.

Several other teachers from our area were highly commended at the awards, which celebrate the outstanding educators and support staff working in primary, secondary, special and early years schools across Essex.

Ken Coe, of Notley High School and Braintree Sixth Form College, was recognised in the non-teaching staff category.

Julie Roberts, of Goldingham Drive Community Preschool, was highly commended as an early years and foundations stage practitioner.

New Rickstones Academy’s Damien Lee was also recognised in the headteacher of the year category, along with Matthew Davies in the teacher of the year category.

Sue Wright also from New Rickstones Academy was highly commended for the Lifetime Achievement Award after 35 years at the school.

Rebecca More, of Rivenhall Primary School, was commended in the primary headteacher category.

Clare Deighton, of Elm Hall Primary School, was highly commended in the non-teaching staff member category, while there was also an acknowledgment for Susan Wright from New Rickstones Academy.

County Hall education boss Ray Gooding, said: “I’m sure we can all remember a teacher or another member of school staff who played an important part in our own education journey when we were younger and who in some cases may have shaped the person we are today.

“That is why the Essex Teaching Awards are such an important platform for highlighting and celebrating the effect these individuals have on the lives of children and young people across Essex.”

Mr Gooding added: “I never ceased to be moved by the nominations we received and would like to congratulate everyone that won an award, who was highly commended this year.

“We have so many special people working in education across the county and I hope they feel proud of the positive impact they make every day.”