Harvest time for growers of cereal crops is usually followed by a Milling process to render yields suitable for food production.

Today Milling is usually done at large industrial units, but historically wind and water provided the power.

Here we had examples of both types and Townsford, Box, East and North Mills names survive. We even have a Windmill Road.

The most prominent is Townsford (now a restaurant and antique centre), built in 1788 as a water powered corn mill and later converted to using steam.

Another town centre mill was situated in Bridge Street in the area opposite the Library.

Our photograph shows Clovers Mill as it was prior to demolition in 1973.

Built in around 1850 to provide steam driven corn milling facilities it incorporated, what was the original Halstead House of Correction seen on the left hand side.

At the top of the town was North Mill, shown in our other photograph as it was prior to 1890. It was known locally as Frosts Mill, after the owners who ran it for many years prior to closure.

The mill was somewhat unique. Built in the early 1800's originally for wind power only, it had steam power added in 1868. This allowed milling to proceed even when no wind was available.

In 1922 wind power was abandoned and the sails were removed. Most of the remaining structure was demolished in 1947.

The area, now developed for residential purposes incorporates part of the original buildings with the heritage incorporated into the road and place names.

www halsteadhistory.org.uk.