Alderford Mill is opening its doors to welcome visitors.
The mill, a medium sized timber building, was built in the 18th Century and is regarded as one of the best preserved watermills in Essex. It has been adapted over the centuries to embrace the new milling technologies driven by the Industrial Revolution.
The mill, in Alderford Street, Sible Hedingham, was in use until 1956, but after this is was used as a feed store and gradually fell into disrepair. It was acquired by Essex County Council in 1994 and by this time the water wheel had completely collapsed although the rest of th mill machinery was intact.
In 2008, after much restoration work to ensure the structure was safe for visitors and weather tight and to repair the water wheel, the mill opened to regular visitors.
It is now a Grade II* listed building and opens monthly for visitors, with the next open day scheduled for Sunday from 2pm until 5pm.. There will be the opportunity to explore the three floors of the mill, following the process of how corn was ground into flour, and inspect the old machinery and artefacts. The water-wheel will be turned during the day.
Entry is free although donations are welcome. Refreshments will be available.
Visit alderfordmill.org.uk or phone 01787 460069 for more information.